Heroes 2004 - 2020

Heroes 2004 - 2020
We live in a world in which we need to share responsibility. It’s easy to say, ‘It’s not my child, not my community, not my world, not my problem.’ Then there are those who see the need and respond. I consider those people my heroes. -- Fred Rogers.

Every year, to mark the anniversary of the 1937 Texas School Explosion, I salute inspirational leaders who demonstrate an extraordinary sense of responsibility and commitment to the safety of children and their communities.

The Healthy Kids Hero Award was created as an annual opportunity to remember the 1937 tragedy — a gas explosion that killed more than 300 people, mostly students, in their new state-of-the-art public school where no expense had been spared except when it came to safety.


2018 Heroes Speaking Up for Safety

Safeguarding Children and Communities, Curt Nordgaard is one of the founders of the Massachusetts Health Professionals for Clean Energy.​ Read Dr. Nordgaard’s story here.
IPM is a Team Effort, Kathy Murray is the Integrated Pest Management (IPM) Specialist at the Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry. Read Kathy Murray’s story here.

To Make Every Child Feel Safe Every Day John Obremski is the Principal of Lafayette Elementary School, Everett, MA.​ Meet John Obremski here.

2017 Audrey Schulman, Cambridge MA, Every Town Needs A Squeaky Leak Project

Jane Winn 

Brooke Leifer

2014 Heroes
Foxborough Regional Charter School, Dr. Mark Logan, Executive Director, Foxborough, MA
Mike Matley, Custodian,Westborough Public Library, Westborough, MA

Roger Young, Roger Young and Associates, Andover, MA

2008 Inspiring Nominees Dr. Jack Gerlovich and Barbara Lee Foster